The World Taekwondo Federation has Become a Full Member of the International Paralympic Committee



The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) held its 17th General Assembly in Mexico City on Sunday (15 November) with nearly 300 people in attendance.


The IPC General Assembly approved the membership of nine new organisations, five of which were National Paralympic Committees (NPCs). They are the NPCs of Aruba, Yemen, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Guinea Bissau and Somalia.


Four International Federations – World Taekwondo Federation, International Sailing Federation, International Federation of CP Football and Badminton World Federation – were also approved as IPC members.


It was also agreed to terminate the membership of the NPCs of Bangladesh, Somalia (an old NPC), Albania and Peru because of either their inactivity or because of a suspension that exceeds more than four consecutive years.