Four members elected to World Taekwondo Athletes’ Committee


BAKU, Azerbaijan (Jun 3, 2023) - Rio 2016 Olympic champion Cheick Cisse (Cote D’Ivoire), three-time World Champion Daehoon Lee (Korea), two-time Olympic and World Champion Jingyu Wu (China) and Pan American silver medallist Katherine Alvarado (Costa Rica) were today elected to the World Taekwondo Athletes’ Committee for the 2023-2026 term.


The athletes were elected by their piers with all registered athletes at the Baku 2023 World Taekwondo Championships entitled to two votes each (one vote for a candidate of each gender). More than 1,600 votes were cast during the elections which took place during the World Championships from 28 May to 3 June.


Jingyu Wu previously served on the Committee and will now serve for a new term. The three newly elected members will replace outgoing member Benjamin Haines (Great Britain), and Chairs Nikita Glasnovic (Croatia) and Stephen Lambdin (USA).  The four members will join Jaouad Achab (Belgium) and Valeria Santos (Brazil) who were elected at last year’s World Championships in Guadalajara.


The new Chairs will be decided by the six members of the Athletes’ Committee. The Chairs will serve as ex-officio members on the World Taekwondo Council ensuring that the athlete voice is represented at the highest level within the federation.